|Home > Help >Bidding & buying >All about bidding >Bidding overview|
Bidding is meant to be fun and enjoyable, but remember that each bid you place enters you into a binding contract. All bids are active until the auction ends. If you win a listing, you're obliged to complete the transaction. Read the User Agreement for details.
Learn more about bidding on eBay by reading the information below:
How to bid
Once you find an item you're interested in, it's easy to place a bid.
eBay will bid on your behalf up to your maximum bid. You'll get an email confirming your bid. And at when the auction ends, you'll receive another email indicating whether you've won the item, with an explanation of what you can do next.
Note: You may be able to place bids from more than just the item page. However, please carefully review the item listing before you place a bid.
About eBay's automatic bidding system
When you place a bid, we suggest that you enter the maximum amount that you're willing to pay for the item. (You won't necessarily pay the amount of your maximum bid.) eBay compares your bid to those of other bidders and increases your bid on your behalf using only as much of your bid as is necessary to maintain your high bid position.
Automatic bidding system: eBay uses an automatic bidding system to make bidding more convenient. There's nothing you need to set up, the system is already in place.
Bid increments: eBay's bidding system is based on increments. A bid increment is the amount by which a bid will be raised each time the current bid is outdone.
Bid safely: eBay limits the display of your bid history information by using anonymous names. All bidders are assigned anonymous names, such as x***y. These anonymous names are used consistently across all auctions that exceed a certain level. When you bid on an item, your user ID is shown only to the seller of the item.
Regardless of the current high bid, when the reserve or Buy It Now price is initially set at or above Rs. 9,000, your User ID will appear as an anonymous name throughout the duration of the auction, even if the seller lowers the price.
Note: Anonymous names may appear more than once in the bid history and may represent different bidders from different auctions.
Tips for successful bidding
Learn about eBay Guarantee*.
When another bidder has placed a higher maximum bid than yours, you've been outbid. Learn more about getting outbid.
Changing your bid
There may be times when you’d like to raise or lower your bid. Learn more about changing your bid.
Occasionally, for certain high-profile listings, eBay will allow a seller to create a pre-approved bidders list to restrict their listings to a specified group of buyers. Here's what you can expect if you bid on a listing that has a pre-approved bidders list:
Sellers can make their listings unavailable to a specified list of bidders. Blocked bidders will receive an error message that states they are not allowed to bid on that seller's listings.
If you are blocked from a listing and want to discuss the situation with the seller, click the seller's User ID or the "Ask the seller a question" link on the listing page.
Note: Blocked bidders may not bid on that seller's listings with another User ID. This could result in indefinite suspension from eBay.
Learn about the blocked bidder list from a seller's point of view.
Reserve Price Auctions
Reserve Price Auctions – Some auction-style listings have a reserve price (that is, a hidden minimum price) on their item.
Shill bidding is the deliberate use of secondary registrations, aliases, family members, friends, or associates to artificially drive up the bid price of an item. (This is also known as "bid padding".) Shill bidding is strictly forbidden on eBay. eBay members found to be shill bidding may receive warnings or indefinite suspensions of their accounts.
Learn about rules and policies regarding shill bidding.
Contact Customer Service
Have a question? We can help.