Help
Help
Search the Help pages (Does not search for items or products)  Search Help PagesTips
Enter your Help search terms here. (Example: 'contact seller')

How sellers can cancel an order

 

Sellers are obligated to complete a sale with a buyer. However, we understand there may be certain circumstances in which transactions need to be cancelled.

Cancel an order

You can cancel an order by following the instructions below. After you cancel we'll let the buyer know and, if they've already paid, they'll get a refund.

How to cancel an order in Seller Hub or in My eBay Sold:
  1. In Seller Hub, go to Orders or in My eBay, go to Sold.

  2. Find the order you want to cancel, and from More actions, select Cancel this order.

  3. Choose a reason for the cancellation and then select Continue to finish.
    The reason code to cancel an order because the buyer hasn't paid will be available once the order is eligible. Learn more about resolving unpaid items with buyers.

What if the buyer requests to cancel the order?

If you receive a notification from eBay that the buyer has requested to cancel the order, you'll have 3 days to accept or decline the request.

If the buyer sends you a message asking you to cancel the transaction you can cancel it from Seller Hub or from the Sold section in My eBay by following the instructions above.

What happens after an order is cancelled?

Your item will be relisted automatically unless you choose not to relist. If you don't want your item to be relisted, simply uncheck the Relist item after cancellation box when you're cancelling the order.

If you cancelled the order because the buyer didn't pay, any feedback left by the buyer will be removed and your seller standards won't be affected.

You can find more information about cancelling orders in our Order cancellation policy.

Contact us

Have a question? We can help.

 Contact us